1 month?

16 Jul

So, confession time. I was going about my morning routine when I decided to clean out my closet. So, after tossing clothes that I havent worn in years, I of course wanted to start mixing and matching the items that I did keep to give me some new ideas for combinations for the next couple months. Epic fail.

Pair of pants #1: My favorite par of Seven’s skinny jeans that fit 1 month ago.

(Yes, I have both washes) Yeah, they didn’t fit anymore. I barely zip them up. Deciding to give myself the benefit of the doubt (surely they just must have shrunk!), I proceeded on to the next pair….

Pair of pants #2: My second most favorite pair of pants- my Rock and Republic’s that also use to fit one month ago.

Yeah they didn’t fit either. Eff. My. Life.

Of course I let my curiosity get the best of me and I immediately headed upstairs to the scale. I have to be honest, I’m not a fan of the scale. After letting it rule my life for a good part of my sophomore and junior year of college, I refused to let it control my emotions again. But, when clothes don’t fit, and I mean to the point of busting out the seams, I needed to know what I was working with.

I know that numbers can upset people so for the sake of those sensitive to that, I will keep my weight to myself. But just know-I’ve grown out of my jeans. In one month. How does that happen? Oh yeah, there was my cousin’s wedding, then that 4 day vacation where I “let loose” (aka just ate for four days straight), trips out for dinner with the fam, nights out with the girls, and apparently one to many trips to the vegan desserts section of Clark’s Nutrition Store. And to top it off, I am the worst night time snacker. I swear, 8pm rolls around and I am making snack plates aplenty! So that’s how it happened!

So, the next couple of months will be spent exercising more (caaaaaaaaardio! When the heck is TurboFire going to get here?!) and incorporating more fruits, veggies, whole grains, and “plant” protein into my diet and cutting out the crap.

I am not going to crash diet.  I’ve been there, done that, and it never works. I will be taking this slowly. It needs to be a lifestyle change.

For those of you looking at my pic in my previous post and thinking, “Why on earth would you need to lose weight?!” Lets just say dresses do a fab job of hiding a troublesome midsection and upper thigh area. And to be honest, I’m not really concerned about losing weight, just the excess fat that has formed around said trouble areas. I’d love it if I could just tone up a bit more. And because muscle weighs more than fat, I could remain the same.

So, time to clean up my eats, get some good cardio, and lift some weights! Tomorrow is day 1!

Game plan:

  • Workout 6 days a week (6 days cardio, 3 days weights, 2 days yoga)
  • 3 main meals
  • 2 “in-between” snacks
  • Limit my snacking to one “treat” a night
  • STAY POSITIVE

I need some advice!

How do you avoid nighttime snacking?

Also, what are your favorite brands of jeans?

9 Responses to “1 month?”

  1. lisaou11 July 16, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    Ahhh nighttime snacking—aka the devil. When I know I’m done for the night, I’ll go brush my teeth or use mouthwash. The urge to eat goes away when it will taste all minty.

  2. Tina July 16, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I just found your blog and I’m already so happy with it! I think it’s great that you know not to do anything drastic to make the changes you want to see and that you are giving yourself time for those to happen. I bet you will be successful at it!!

    Nighttime snacking – I have learned that turning off the lights in the kitchen and doing something that distracts me and that I don’t associate with eating helps. I’ll read a book or get on the computer instead of watching TV for example until I break the habit.

  3. Karissa @ CardioFoodie July 16, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I just came across your blog today and I am dealing with the exact same thing! Somehow in the last month I have really put on some weight, it just crept up there until I noticed the other day.

    I am guessing my main culprit is snacking as well. Mostly stress induced. I am going to try and take my dog for a walk every time I get the urge to snack when I know I am not really hungry…aka one hour after dinner. [The dog is ecstatic about this plan]

    • nourishingnoshes July 16, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

      I’m a huge stressed induced snacker as well! I have to find other ways to deal with that anxiety. Walking sounds like an excellent idea!

  4. Michelle July 16, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    I recommend drinking herbal teas at night, that’s what keeps me full. Good luck!

  5. Devon July 16, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    One thing that really works for me is having something else to do with my hands…I have been working on a scrapbook in the evenings and it has really helped curb the bored eating desire.

    Good luck!!!

    • Liz July 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Hey Girl –

      I struggle with nighttime snacking, too, but are you sure it was EXACTLY a month ago that those pants fit? If not you could be dealing with a different part of your cycle and potentially it could just be bloating.

      Anyway, seems like you have a great attitude about the whole thing. Keep it up!

  6. Katie July 20, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    STAY POSITIVE is my mantra when life gets a little hairy.

    My favorite jeans are a pair of straight-leg Citizens.

Leave a Reply

